Advertisement
 
YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsOpinion
IN THE NEWS

Opinion

OPINION
September 9, 2010 | By John L. Esposito and Sheila B. Lalwani
There is the world of neoconservative columnists such as The Times' Jonah Goldberg, who in an Aug. 24 column asserted that the anti-Muslim backlash is mainly a myth. Then there is the world where the rest of us live. Anyone who is witnessing the debates over the proposal to build an Islamic center in New York City has watched an unraveling of emotions across America. Muslims in America — numbering between 4 million and 7 million — have been chastised for not being sufficiently sorry for the acts of 19 hijackers on that terrible day in September 2001, or sensitive enough to the victims' families.
Advertisement
CALIFORNIA | LOCAL
July 2, 1990
In response to "Is It Opinion or Is It Fact?" editorial, June 23: This letter is from one who seldom reads Times' editorials because of their liberal bias and slanted opinions. Your use of such inflammatory and one-sided words in this editorial as though they were true illustrates my point: "huge setback;" "astonishing recklessness;" "ignored the standard;" "chilling;" "chaos and contradiction." It would appear that your mean position, far from a noble cry of protection of free speech, is in reality the whine of a culprit who has with impunity defamed the innocent with words that "imply an assertion of objective fact."
CALIFORNIA | LOCAL
November 2, 1992 | Compiled by Erik Hamilton and Danica Kirka for The Times
MICHELLE TURLEY, Senior, 16 Our parents pass on (racism) to their children. That's the problem. You can't fix what the parents have already told the kids. But you need to bring education about different backgrounds into the school. There's also not a lot of history from other nations being taught. (Black students) want to learn about Africa. (They) want to be considered that they're not "less" than other people. The civil rights movement only happened recently. They want to be equal.
CALIFORNIA | LOCAL
January 18, 1993 | Erik Hamilton for The Times
HOLLY ASUNCION Freshman, 14, Downey High School As teen-agers, we are easily influenced by our friends and people we see on an elevated level. We are taught constantly, sometimes profoundly. We do not need ethics to be taught as a subject; it is already required in life. We do not need to answer questions 1-5 at the end of each chapter. Ethics are learned individually. As individuals, we have individualized morals. Ethics are taught to us knowingly and unknowingly.
ENTERTAINMENT
August 9, 2009 | CHARLES McNULTY, THEATER CRITIC
In these cash-strapped days, people are lucky to get to see a show once, never mind a second or third time. But with "Spamalot" now playing at the Ahmanson Theatre more than four years after it opened on Broadway and a couple of years after it premiered in Las Vegas, there are a number of returning customers, Monty Python addicts chief among them.
ENTERTAINMENT
October 30, 2009 | JAMES RAINEY
White House versus Fox News eye gouging has been all the rage in recent days. The Obama administration calls the cable outlet a partisan political organ. Fox retorts that the president can't take a fair punch. Fox says just check its news programs -- filled with "fair and balanced" coverage -- and don't peg its reputation solely on the work of commentators like Glenn Beck, Sean Hannity and Bill O'Reilly. The debate over the meaning of Fox News has become so routine, and so routinely partisan, that one hesitates to join the fray again.
OPINION
December 21, 2003 | Stephen Bayley
Dude, who stole my brain? It's a question that needs answering. On both sides of the Atlantic, there is a deadening conformity in matters of opinion. In politics, the ritual responses of right and left are wearily predictable. Academic discourse is numbed by dual constraints of peer-group review in truck with the stifling nostrums of correctitude.
OPINION
December 10, 2012
So-called conversion therapy to change a patient's sexual orientation is a practice frowned on by mainstream psychiatry and deeply offensive to gays and lesbians, who rightly see it as a relic of a time when homosexuality was regarded as a mental illness. Its most vociferous defenders are religious conservatives. We think it's a terrible idea. Nevertheless, we opposed state legislation outlawing the use of conversion therapy designed to change the sexual orientation of minors. It doesn't make sense for legislators to ban specific procedures performed by licensed professionals in the absence of persuasive scientific evidence that they caused harm to patients.
OPINION
August 13, 2011
What is news analysis doing on the front page of a newspaper? If you haven't noticed, there's an opinion page for that stuff" That was the question reader Stuart Fink sent us last week after The Times published a front-page news analysis by reporter Peter Nicholas on the debt-ceiling deal's political fallout for President Obama. The paper has published 35 news analysis pieces so far this year, and the question Fink asks often comes up when we do. Reply from Washington bureau chief David Lauter: A newspaper employs many different formats to communicate information and ideas to its readers — news reporting, analysis and commentary being among them.
OPINION
January 16, 2011 | By Stephen Randall
You think too much. And you're not alone. Everybody's thinking too much. We live in an era in which it is important to have opinions. Not necessarily smart or original ones; almost any opinion will do as long as it's forcefully expressed. When it comes to opinions, we're all living in an intellectual Costco, where it's volume, volume, volume. It wasn't that long ago that opinions were something carefully considered and weighed, so that they'd stand the test of time and reflect well on the author.
Los Angeles Times Articles
|