Advertisement
YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsOpinion
IN THE NEWS

Opinion

NATIONAL
August 21, 2013 | By Ken Dilanian
WASHINGTON - The National Security Agency improperly collected the emails of tens of thousands of Americans for three years before acknowledging the problem in 2011 and bringing it to the attention of the secret intelligence court, which ordered the program overhauled. Officials disclosed the history of that unlawful surveillance Wednesday, releasing three partially redacted opinions of the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court that detailed the judges' concerns about how the NSA had been siphoning data from the Internet in an effort to collect foreign intelligence.
Advertisement
OPINION
August 9, 2013
Re "Parenthood optional," Opinion, Aug. 6 I don't thank Meghan Daum for choosing not to have children; I respect her, but I don't thank her. What she's chosen to do is to deprive our society of those who would have inherited her sensibilities and intellect. Jack Salem Los Angeles ALSO: Letters: What the drought is telling us Letters: The hunger strikers' humanity Letters: Re-working No Child Left Behind
OPINION
July 28, 2013
If you've ever tried to submit a poem to Opinion, you've probably gotten a reply noting that we simply don't print poetry. We didn't print the poem that came in the shape of the World Trade Center towers after 9/11; we didn't print the poem that came in this month after the Trayvon Martin verdict; and we didn't print any of the hundreds of poems that came in between those events. But we've decided to make a one-time exception. We are inviting Op-Poetry submissions from readers, and on Sunday, Aug. 25, we'll devote a page of our print section to the best of what comes in. And we'll feature more of it on the Opinion website.
IMAGE
July 28, 2013 | By Ingrid Schmidt, Special to the Los Angeles Times
Blow-out salons, lash bars, hair conditioning studios and makeup lounges that offer express takes on a single beauty service are popping up all over the city. One of the latest - and arguably most novel - concepts in the pamper-and-go business is Skin Laundry, a local company that offers a five-minute, non-ablative "Signature Laser Facial" at its first two locations in Santa Monica and West Hollywood. Performed by a registered nurse, the painless two-part session includes a laser treatment (with a Q-switched laser, typically used to treat acne and skin discoloration)
CALIFORNIA | LOCAL
July 23, 2013 | By Angel Jennings
Although voting has been slow in the Eastern San Fernando Valley special election for a Los Angeles City Council seat, some who turned out had clear motivations. Cesar Guillermo, 55, arrived at the Panorama Recreation Center to cast his vote for former Los Angeles school board member Nury Martinez. He said although Martinez and her opponent Cindy Montañez might appear to share similar backgrounds, he felt Martinez was stronger. "I read all of their resumes and I think one stands out over the other," he said.  Guillermo said that the issue of child abuse in the Los Angeles Unified School District drew him to the polls.
CALIFORNIA | LOCAL
July 22, 2013 | By Emily Alpert
Whites are far more likely than blacks to say the jury came to the right decision in the George Zimmerman trial, new polls show - another sign of the divisions laid bare by the case that has sparked protests across the country. In a newly released poll, the Pew Research Center found that nearly half of white Americans said they were satisfied that Zimmerman was acquitted in the killing of Trayvon Martin, while only 5% of blacks said the same. Eighty-six percent of black Americans surveyed were dissatisfied, compared to 30% of whites, Pew found in its survey of more than 1,400 adults.
OPINION
July 20, 2013
Since George Zimmerman was acquitted last Saturday on all charges in the shooting death of 17-year-old Trayvon Martin, The Times has received more than 250 letters reacting to the verdict and its aftermath. Almost all of the letters have been pointed and earnest, and readers on all sides of the debate have found little to like about the case and its aftermath. Most of the letters can be placed into four broad categories: Those who say the jury got it right (although a sizable number of those say the outcome wasn't necessarily just)
OPINION
July 4, 2013
Today marks 47 years since the Freedom of Information Act was signed into law by President Lyndon B. Johnson. FOIA established the public's right to access government records and to know what our government is doing, both its successes and failures. It allows all of us to hold government accountable. Gov. Jerry Brown recently backed down after attempting to water down the state's public access law, the Ralph M. Brown Act, by making it optional for government agencies to provide requested information.
BUSINESS
July 4, 2013 | By Jim Puzzanghera
WASHINGTON - Lawmakers in Congress are voting more often along party lines. But within the ranks of Republicans, there is growing evidence of voting along age lines. The generational split, fueled by a surge in young lawmakers who won seats in recent elections, has been emerging on a number of tax and spending bills, including last year's transportation funding bill and this year's pending farm bill. And that divide may be deeper even than differences over Tea Party issues, now that most Republicans in Congress are conservative.
CALIFORNIA | LOCAL
June 26, 2013 | By Jessica Garrison, Abby Sewell and Angel Jennings
Pastor Jim Franklin was one of the leading voices supporting California's 2008 gay marriage ban. He spoke passionately about the importance of traditional marriage from the pulpit of Cornerstone Church in Fresno and led rallies against gay unions. Five years later, the epic battle appears to have ended when the U.S. Supreme Court on Wednesday refused to decide the merits of the case on the grounds that the sponsors of Proposition 8 did not have the legal right to bring the appeal.
Los Angeles Times Articles
|