YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsPrize


April 7, 2014 | By Carolyn Kellogg
The six-book shortlist for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction was announced Monday. The U.K.-based prize, which comes with an award of about $50,000, is the most significant dedicated solely to fiction written by women. The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction , formerly the Orange Prize, was founded in 1991 after organizers noticed a distinct lack of appreciation for novels written by women. That year, while 60% of the novels published in the U.K. were by women, none made the shortlist for the Booker Prize.
April 7, 2014 | By Jay Jones
Beautiful - if fleeting - works of art will be sculpted from sand when the the Original Imperial Beach Sandcastle Competition returns July 19 to the San Diego County town. Professional sand sculptors will compete for $17,000 in prize money as they spend five hours on the beach creating their masterpieces as part of the Sun & Sea Festival . The competition will take place from 9 a.m.-2 p.m. During the same time, children can test their skills in the “Kids 'n Kastles” sand castle contest.
April 4, 2014 | By Gwenda Bond
John Green's career as a book world phenom began auspiciously: His funny but tragic 2005 debut novel, "Looking for Alaska," became a cult young adult hit and landed the American Library Assn.'s Printz Award for YA novel of the year. This was followed by 2006's "An Abundance of Katherines," a heavily footnoted romantic comedy shortlisted for the Printz and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and 2008's "Paper Towns," which nabbed an Edgar Award. But it was 2012's "The Fault in Our Stars," featuring a heart-wrenching romance between intellectual teen cancer patients that cemented Green's status as a YA superstar.
March 31, 2014 | By Amy Hubbard
A Virginia couple has won top prizes in the state's lottery three times within a single month. Wow, what are the odds! The answer is: rotten. The odds of winning are rotten. But it's people like Calvin and Zatera Spencer, of Portsmouth, Va., who keep us playing the lottery. We know we'll never win. Then someone wins three times in a month. "I've been here for 12 years," Virginia Lottery spokesman John Hagerty told the Los Angeles Times, "and this is the first time I've seen someone win three major prizes within such a short period of time.
March 25, 2014 | By David Ng
Shigeru Ban, the Japanese architect who is the recipient of the 2014 Pritzker Prize, has never had his name attached to a permanent art museum in the U.S. in his three-decade-long career. But that will change in August when his new building for the Aspen Art Museum in Colorado opens to the public. The block-like structure, which features 33,000 square feet of space, will open in celebration of the museum's 35th anniversary. With a reported price tag of $45 million, the building will feature six primary gallery spaces on the museum's four levels.
March 24, 2014 | By Christopher Hawthorne, Los Angeles Times Architecture Critic
For the third time in five years, the Pritzker Prize is going to a Japanese architect. Shigeru Ban , a 56-year-old architect born in Tokyo, was named the winner of his profession's top honor on Monday. Yet Ban's architecture is markedly different, in form and sensibility, from the work of recent Pritzker winners from Japan. He's best known for quickly assembled buildings, many made of cardboard or shipping containers, designed for parts of the world reeling from war or natural disaster.
March 11, 2014 | David Colker
Newspaper veteran Larry Burrough, who was the city editor at the Los Angeles Herald Examiner and then a deputy editor at the Orange County Register where he oversaw a Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative series, died Monday in Yakima, Wash. He was 66. Burrough had surgery in December to remove a cancerous brain tumor and never fully recovered, said his sister, Nancy Yuckert. "He was a huge personality, born for the news business," said Ed Stover, who worked with Burrough at three newspapers in the Pacific Northwest.
March 10, 2014 | By Carolyn Kellogg
George Saunders' short story collection "Tenth of December" was named the winner of the first-ever Folio Prize in London on Monday. The prize is worth more than $65,000. Lavinia Greenlaw, chairwoman of the judges, said: "George Saunders' stories are both artful and profound. Darkly playful, they take us to the edge of some of the most difficult questions of our time and force us to consider what lies behind and beyond them. His subject is the human self under ordinary and extraordinary pressure.
March 10, 2014 | By David Ng
Esa-Pekka Salonen, the former music director of the Los Angeles Philharmonic, has won the prestigious Michael Ludwig Nemmers Prize in Music Composition, a biennial award from Northwestern University that honors a contemporary composer's body of work. Salonen is receiving a $100,000 cash award and will have one of his works performed by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in the 2015-16 season, the university announced Monday. The Finnish composer-conductor also will partner with Northwestern's Henry and Leigh Bienen School of Music, where he will participate in four residencies on the Northwestern campus in the next two academic years.
March 9, 2014 | By Gary Klein
Amane Gobena glanced over her shoulder several times as she approached the final stretch of Sunday's L.A. Marathon. Gobena, of Ethiopia, wanted to make sure that no one could threaten her shot at a $75,000 payday. She had no need to worry. Gobena won the women's race in 2 hours 27 minutes 37 seconds to earn $25,000. Countryman Gebo Burka won the men's race in 2:10:37, but his time was not fast enough to overcome the 17-minute 41-second head start afforded the women as part of the event's $50,000 gender challenge.
Los Angeles Times Articles