Advertisement
YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsReview
IN THE NEWS

Review

FEATURED ARTICLES
ENTERTAINMENT
October 12, 2013 | By Robert Hilburn
Johnny Cash's life in the 1960s is mostly remembered as a time of glorious achievement - from the landmark prison albums at Folsom and San Quentin to the launch of the ABC-TV series featuring such guests as Bob Dylan and the Doors that led to his becoming a giant figure in popular culture, a symbol to millions, no less, of the best of American social values. But Cash also experienced excruciatingly dark times in the decade, fueled by drugs and guilt over the breakup of his marriage.
ARTICLES BY DATE
ENTERTAINMENT
April 27, 2014 | By Rick Schultz
There was a sense of occasion at the Alex Theater in Glendale on Saturday night when Jeffrey Kahane led the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra in works by Hannah Lash, Chopin and Haydn. The day before, Kahane announced he would be leaving his post after the 2016-17 season, making his run as music director an even 20 years, the longest in the ensemble's history. The farewells began after intermission when the orchestra's executive director, Rachel Fine, announced that at the end of his tenure he would be named the orchestra's first conductor laureate.
Advertisement
NEWS
October 29, 2012 | By Brady MacDonald
Halloween is my favorite time of year. And I love to be scared. Over the years, I've been through my fair share of theme park mazes, independent haunted attractions and backyard spookfests. I even dress up every Halloween as a chainsaw-wielding maniac in a hockey mask and scare the neighborhood kids at the haunted house on our block. So I like to think I've seen it all - from the mundane to the extreme. But I've never experienced anything like McKamey Manor . > Photos: Inside the McKamey Manor backyard haunt in San Diego On Friday night I went through the backyard haunt tucked behind the three-bedroom, brick-and-stucco home of Russ and Carol McKamey in an otherwise ordinary San Diego subdivision near Poway.
ENTERTAINMENT
April 25, 2014 | By David C. Nichols
It's Christmas in Chinon, France, circa AD 1183, and yuletide is anything but harmonious at the Plantagenet homestead. Dad is in a blustering royal frenzy over his legacy. His three sons are backstabbing each other to inherit the English crown. The French princess intended for whoever does so is Pop's enervated mistress. And then there's Mum, on holiday prison leave, scheming to destroy her husband through their children. Well, as she puts it, what family doesn't have its ups and downs?
ENTERTAINMENT
April 2, 2010
"Tyler Perry's Why Did I Get Married Too?," a PG-13 comedy, opens Friday in general release but did not screen for critics. The review will appear in Monday's Calendar and online as soon as it is available.
ENTERTAINMENT
September 4, 2009
"Gamer," an R-rated futuristic thriller, opens in general release today but did not screen for critics. The review will appear online at latimes.com/moviereviews as soon as it is available.
NATIONAL
October 23, 2012 | By Molly Hennessy-Fiske
HOUSTON -- An outside review of Texas arson convictions  has  uncovered suspect cases that are expected to be presented to a panel of state fire experts in January.  Advocacy groups say the review could help overturn wrongful convictions. Those leading the inquiry at the Lubbock-based Innocence Project of Texas are reviewing cases in which  investigators relied on  “junk science,” since-discredited approaches to analyzing crime-scene evidence and to determining whether fires were intentionally set. They plan to bring their findings to a panel of fire experts assembled by Texas Fire Marshal Chris Connealy.
ENTERTAINMENT
May 11, 2012 | By Mark Olsen
Directed by Derick Martini from a screenplay adapted by Andrea Portes from her own novel,"Hick" is part road movie and part coming-of-age story but mostly plays like some creepy-perv fantasia looking for mileage from the mature-beyond-her-years presence of young star Chloë Grace Moretz. As a movie-obsessed 13-year-old who runs away from her barfly parents, Moretz's character finds herself batted between a slightly older grifter-drifter (Blake Lively) and a reckless cowboy (Eddie Redmayne)
ENTERTAINMENT
June 4, 2010
"Killers," a PG-13 action-comedy from Lionsgate, did not screen for film critics. The review will appear online and in print as soon as it is available.
ENTERTAINMENT
May 6, 2013 | By Carolyn Kellogg
Baz Luhrmann's "The Great Gatsby" opens wide this Friday. Eighty-eight years before -- to the day -- the Los Angeles Times ran this review of the original "The Great Gatsby," the novel by F. Scott Fitzgerald. Today, perception of the book's reception in 1925 varies -- some say it was successful , others that it was a dismal failure -- but our review, by Lillian C. Ford, is purely positive. And she captures something of what has made the book a classic. "The Seamy Side of Society," read the headline, with this below: "In 'The Great Gatsby,' F. Scott Fitzgerald Creates a New Kind of Underworld Character and Throws the Spotlight on the Jaded Lives of the Idle Rich.
ENTERTAINMENT
April 25, 2014 | By Richard S. Ginell
Violinist Gil Shaham's career has been taking some very intriguing left turns lately. He came up with a terrific programming idea recently, recording as many of the worthy violin concertos written in the 1930s as he can lay his Stradivarius on -  the standards and the obscurities - for his own label, Canary Classics. There is also a curious new item where, in recognition of “research” on classical music's alleged repellent effect on teenagers, Shaham slapped together some excerpts from his recordings and packaged them in a CD with the title “Music to Drive Away Loiterers.” Of course, it was released on April Fools' Day.  All of this brainstorming seems to have invigorated Shaham.
ENTERTAINMENT
April 25, 2014 | By Chris Barton
If Chick Corea and B é la Fleck ever grow weary of touring the country and transfixing audiences with virtuoso musicianship, chances are a future as a two-man comedy team awaits. While the idea of a piano-banjo duet recital may sound unconventional to some, Corea and Fleck have collaborated numerous times before. After appearing on each other's projects beginning in the mid-'90s, the two came together most prominently on  the 2007 album "The Enchantment," which somewhat counter-intuitively earned a pair of Latin Grammy awards for the celebrated artists' already crowded mantles.
FOOD
April 25, 2014 | Jonathan Gold
The night of the lunar eclipse, I was having a late supper at Red Medicine out on Wilshire, a few tables over from a man who had decided to dress as Jesus for the evening, a slender young man with long, straight hair and white robes flowing around his ankles. I can't be sure, but I think he ordered the tasting menu. After dinner, I walked outside in time to see the last sliver of the moon disappear into the Earth's shadow. An elderly man plucked at my arm, eager to know what I was looking up at, and I pointed at the moon, at Mars shining bright and pink in its penumbra.
ENTERTAINMENT
April 25, 2014 | By Charles McNulty, Los Angeles Times Theater Critic
Yes, he even falls with grace. Mikhail Baryshnikov doesn't get much opportunity to dance in "Man in a Case," a performance piece that has been adapted from the Anton Chekhov short stories "The Man in a Case" and "About Love. " The most he offers is a few moves wreathed in air quotes. But there's a point in the production, which opened Thursday at the Broad Stage in Santa Monica, when he slides down a steep flight of steps that is more revealing of his character than anything thus far in his portrayal.
ENTERTAINMENT
April 25, 2014 | By Oliver Gettell
In the new revenge comedy "The Other Woman," Cameron Diaz, Leslie Mann and Kate Upton play a trio of scorned women seeking to give their cheating mutual beau (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau) his comeuppance. According to film critics, though, they would have been better off directing their ire at the movie itself, for its lazy cliches and pseudo-feminist slant. The Times' Betsy Sharkey calls "The Other Woman" the "quintessential anti-date movie" - ironic, as it's directed by Nick Cassavetes, who did "The Notebook" - and says it's "out of control and intent on running down a certain kind of male.
NATIONAL
April 25, 2014 | By David Willman
WASHINGTON - Amid concerns about its effectiveness and multibillion-dollar cost, the Department of Homeland Security has canceled plans to install an automated technology that was meant to speed the 24-hour operations of BioWatch, the national system for detecting a biological attack. The cancellation of the "Generation 3" acquisition was made Thursday at the direction of Homeland Security Secretary Jeh Johnson, according to a memorandum circulated by Michael V. Walter, the BioWatch program manager.
ENTERTAINMENT
April 25, 2014 | By Charles McNulty, Los Angeles Times Theater Critic
Depending on your knowledge of the material and expectations going in, the touring version of "The Gershwins' Porgy and Bess," which opened Wednesday at the Ahmanson Theatre, might be either an ingenious, audience-friendly re-creation or a bastardization of this classic American show. Both perspectives can reside within the same spectator, as they do within me, one alternately gaining the upper hand over the other. Undeniable, however, is the majesty of the score, which begins after the Overture with "Summertime" and keeps soaring with "My Man's Gone Now," "Bess, You Is My Woman Now" and "I Loves You, Porgy.
ENTERTAINMENT
April 25, 2014 | By Gary Goldstein
There's a twinkly dual meaning to the title of the French import "Bright Days Ahead. " It refers to the optimistic name of a seaside town's senior activities club as well as to the immediate future of the group's newest member, 60-year-old retired dentist Caroline (Fanny Ardant, gorgeous and self-assured). How director Marion Vernoux, who co-wrote with Fanny Chesnel (based on Chesnel's novel), melds these two halves makes for an enjoyable and unfussy portrait of growing older - and feeling younger.
Los Angeles Times Articles
|