YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollectionsTobias Wolff

Tobias Wolff

September 21, 1989
Winners of the 1989 Los Angeles Times Book Prizes were announced in New York today by Times Book Editor Jack Miles. The announcement was made at a private reception for publishers of all nominated books, held at the Regency Hotel. The winning authors will be honored at a cocktail reception and awards ceremony at The Times on Nov. 3. The 1989 winners: FICTION: The Heart of the Country by Fay Weldon (Viking Penguin).
November 17, 1994 | Associated Press
A meditation on death, "How We Die: Reflections on Life's Final Chapter," by Sherwin B. Nuland, won the nonfiction prize at the National Book Awards Wednesday night. William Gaddis won his second fiction award for "A Frolic of His Own," and James Tate won the poetry award for the "Worshipful Company of Fletchers." Each winner received $10,000.
November 11, 1998
A writer and a poet in the Los Angeles area are among the 10 winners of the 1998 Whiting Writers' Awards. D.J. Waldie, who writes nonfiction and lives in Lakewood, and poet Charles Harper Webb of Long Beach each will receive $30,000. Whiting awards are intended "to seek out, acknowledge and encourage outstanding talent at the early stage of a career when such recognition and support is most critical," according to Barbara Bristol, director of the writers' program of the Mrs.
March 30, 2004 | From Reuters
Celebrated author John Updike added another honor to his list Monday when he was named the winner of the 2004 PEN/Faulkner Award for fiction for his short story collection "The Early Stories." The book, containing most of his stories written between 1953 and 1975 and published by Alfred A. Knopf, was chosen ahead of four other finalists by the judges -- writers Ron Carlson, Chitra Divakaruni and Elizabeth Strout.
March 5, 2004 | From Associated Press
Edward P. Jones, who ended a 10-year absence from publishing with his acclaimed novel "The Known World," won the fiction prize Thursday night from the National Book Critics Circle. Other awards went to Paul Hendrickson's "Sons of Mississippi: A Story of Race and Its Legacy" for general nonfiction, and William Taubman's "Khrushchev: The Man and His Era" for biography-autobiography.
January 20, 2004 | Hillel Italie, Associated Press
Rebels old and young were honored this year by the National Book Critics Circle, which announced its awards nominees Monday. Ninety-one-year-old Studs Terkel, the oral historian and self-described champion of the "uncelebrated," will receive a lifetime achievement prize. And competitive nominations went to two books released by McSweeney's, an irreverent publishing house founded by bestselling author Dave Eggers.
February 4, 1990
On Feb. 12, the 24 members of the board of directors of the National Book Critics Circle will meet in New York to select the five winners of the NBCC book awards. The awards will be presented at New York University on March 8. FICTION "Spartina" by John Casey (Alfred A. Knopf). "Billy Bathgate" by E. L. Doctorow (Random House). "The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love" by Oscar Hijuelos (Farrar, Straus & Giroux). "Ordinary Love, and Good Will" by Jane Smiley (Alfred A. Knopf).
Los Angeles Times Articles